darkflare dragon

Here's a place to ask about the rules of the game.
Post Reply
mizu
Ultimate Rare Duelist
Posts: 944
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:39 am
Location: New Zealand

darkflare dragon

Post by mizu » Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:22 am

Ok so I have had three different opinions on this

Darkflare Dragon's effect.
Once per turn: You can send 1 Dragon-Type monster from your hand and 1 Dragon-Type monster from your Deck to the Graveyard, then target 1 card in either player's Graveyard; banish that target

So if I send eclipse wyrven to the grave using this effect can I banish that same eclipse wyrven and get the card banished by wyrvens effect.
One person has said no i cant banish wyrven
One had said yes I can banish wyrven
one has said yes Banish wyrven but I cant get the card wyrven banished.
My reading of the card means I should be able to send wyrven to the grave using flares effect and banish it and get the card wyrven banished to my hand. This is due to the cards reading.

then target 1 card in either player's Graveyard; banish that target Then banish means (to my understanding) after the cards have been sent to the grave. Since wyrvens effect has already been activated I should be able to banish it then receive the card banished by wyrven. This how the card reads to me.

If the reading stated send one card from your and one card from your deck to the grave to banish one card in either players graveyard I could understand not being able to banish wyrven and get the card banished by wyrven to hand.

So is this just one of those fubared card readings or am I missing something or am I correct ????
Image

User avatar
Flying Elephant
Parallel Rare Duelist
Posts: 3508
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 10:37 pm
Location: Notre Dame

Re: darkflare dragon

Post by Flying Elephant » Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:38 am

You can banish the Wyvern you dump, but you have to banish a Dragon permanently. You do not get to add it to hand.
Image
Thanks to Kamikon Wolf for the sig.
Image

Gone but never forgotten

RIP

Join the Battle Pack Tournament here!

mizu
Ultimate Rare Duelist
Posts: 944
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:39 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: darkflare dragon

Post by mizu » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:47 am

How come??
Image

User avatar
Magicknight94
Ultra Rare Duelist
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 12:51 am

Re: darkflare dragon

Post by Magicknight94 » Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:26 am

1) Activate Darkflare.
2) Send Eclipse and another card to grave for cost.
3) Target that Eclipse .
3) Resolve Darkflare and banish Eclipse .
4) Activate Eclipse's 1st effect.
5) Target 1 monster.
6) Banish it.

2nd eff of Eclipse meet its condition A at step 3, but at step 3, there is no the "monster banished by this (1st) effect", which is its condition B. You cannot fullfill both its conditions, so it cannot be used.

mizu
Ultimate Rare Duelist
Posts: 944
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:39 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: darkflare dragon

Post by mizu » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:25 pm

thanks for clearing that up.
Image

Post Reply