Moon mirror shield

Here's a place to ask about the rules of the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lord dragon
Ghost Rare Duelist
Posts: 9762
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:02 pm
Location: Throne of Heaven

Moon mirror shield

Post by Lord dragon » Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:57 pm

Is the return effect mandatory? I can't see why it wouldn't be, but a friend who normally is good with rulings is disagreeing with me and I can't seem to find a solid ruling on it.
Image
Signature By DFB, maybe.
Majespecter Catastrophe
NANANA
MysticJhn wrote: Why did I lock this thread?
The last 3 pages.

User avatar
xion52998
Secret Rare Duelist
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: The point of no return.

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by xion52998 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:17 pm

It is mandatory.
Image
MysticJhn wrote:Pickles always like you, reguardless on how you feel about them.
If you have a ruling question, feel free to PM me.

User avatar
Lord dragon
Ghost Rare Duelist
Posts: 9762
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:02 pm
Location: Throne of Heaven

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by Lord dragon » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:23 pm

Not the question, looking to find some diffenitive proof
Image
Signature By DFB, maybe.
Majespecter Catastrophe
NANANA
MysticJhn wrote: Why did I lock this thread?
The last 3 pages.

User avatar
xion52998
Secret Rare Duelist
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: The point of no return.

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by xion52998 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:44 pm

Lord dragon wrote:Not the question, looking to find some diffenitive proof
Alrighty then
Shield says " If this face-up card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: Pay 500 LP; place this card on either the top or bottom of your Deck."
The important part is there is no "you can" after the semicolon. The card is sent to the grave, the effect activates, you choose to place it on top or the bottom.
Image
MysticJhn wrote:Pickles always like you, reguardless on how you feel about them.
If you have a ruling question, feel free to PM me.

User avatar
Magicknight94
Ultra Rare Duelist
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 12:51 am

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by Magicknight94 » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:46 pm

Lord dragon wrote:Is the return effect mandatory? I can't see why it wouldn't be, but a friend who normally is good with rulings is disagreeing with me and I can't seem to find a solid ruling on it.
It doesn't say "you can", so it is a mandatory effect. What else proof your friend need?

User avatar
Lord dragon
Ghost Rare Duelist
Posts: 9762
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:02 pm
Location: Throne of Heaven

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by Lord dragon » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:48 am

I dunno, I brought it up he said some nonsense about LP cost makes it optional.

Honestly it's probably the dumbest thing he has said in quite a while.
Image
Signature By DFB, maybe.
Majespecter Catastrophe
NANANA
MysticJhn wrote: Why did I lock this thread?
The last 3 pages.

User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Rare
Posts: 19388
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by MysticJhn » Sat Jun 17, 2017 10:59 pm

I'm going to bump this topic for a question on this card possibly causing an infinite loop.
What if my monster and my opponent's monster are both equipped with this card.
Then what?
Say, for argument's sake, my opponent's monster has 1800 ATK (with a lower DEF) any my monster's stats are both lower.
Moon Mirror Shield activates, my monster's ATK becomes 1900 (their 1800 ATK + 100).
However, now their Moon Mirror Shield activates, and their ATK in now 2000 (my 1900 + 100).
Wouldn't this freeze the game as the damage calculates back and forth, continuously adding 100?
This might sound like a stupid question, and it might be a simple chain with whichever monster resolves their effect second winning by 100 ATK,
but the card only mentions "If the equipped monster battles an opponent's monster...".
Who's Moon Mirror Shield activates first?
Can you cause an infinite loop of damage calculation without ever resolving either card's effect?
Has it ever happened that two opposing monsters both with Moon Mirror Shield equipped have battled officially?
There are no rulings on this card on the Wiki.
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

User avatar
xion52998
Secret Rare Duelist
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: The point of no return.

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by xion52998 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 11:34 pm

Both mirror shields will only activate once, in the same chain, upon entering damage calculation. The turn player's card will be CL1, their opponent will be CL2, and they will resolve in sequence. They will not continuously apply.
Image
MysticJhn wrote:Pickles always like you, reguardless on how you feel about them.
If you have a ruling question, feel free to PM me.

User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Rare
Posts: 19388
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by MysticJhn » Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:39 am

xion52998 wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 11:34 pm
Both mirror shields will only activate once, in the same chain, upon entering damage calculation. The turn player's card will be CL1, their opponent will be CL2, and they will resolve in sequence. They will not continuously apply.
Yeah, that's what I thought, but had to ask.
Although now I wonder if there is a scenario in YGO where two or more effects keep
triggering one another ad infinitum in a loop, resulting in a game that cannot be finished within the rules.
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

User avatar
xion52998
Secret Rare Duelist
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: The point of no return.

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by xion52998 » Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:50 am

MysticJhn wrote:
Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:39 am
xion52998 wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 11:34 pm
Both mirror shields will only activate once, in the same chain, upon entering damage calculation. The turn player's card will be CL1, their opponent will be CL2, and they will resolve in sequence. They will not continuously apply.
Yeah, that's what I thought, but had to ask.
Although now I wonder if there is a scenario in YGO where two or more effects keep
triggering one another ad infinitum in a loop, resulting in a game that cannot be finished within the rules.
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Infinite_loop

Gives a few examples.
Image
MysticJhn wrote:Pickles always like you, reguardless on how you feel about them.
If you have a ruling question, feel free to PM me.

User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Rare
Posts: 19388
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Re: Moon mirror shield

Post by MysticJhn » Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:16 pm

Learn something new every day.
I didn't know there was a game mechanic in place to destroy cards causing infinite loops.
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

Post Reply