Ebon Illusion Magician

Here's a place to ask about the rules of the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Duelist
Posts: 19621
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Ebon Illusion Magician

Post by MysticJhn » Sun Sep 03, 2017 6:31 am

When a Spellcaster-Type Normal Monster declares an attack: You can target 1 card your opponent controls; banish it.
Ran into this effect tonite.
If the Normal Monster (in this case, Dark Magician) attacks, and they target my monster it was attacking, does this cause a replay?
Dark Magician attacks my monster.
Ebon Magician's effect is activated and targets the monster Dark Magician was attacking.
Replay, yes or no since the attack target is no longer there?
Can Dark Magician now choose to attack me directly (since I had no other monsters) or another monster if I had one?
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

User avatar
dracostrike
Ghost Rare Duelist
Posts: 8654
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:53 am
Location: I am Fire. I am Death!

Re: Ebon Illusion Magician

Post by dracostrike » Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:29 am

I believe it does a replay occurs since the attack, while declared, never made it to damage calculations. Then they would attack directly afterwards.
Image
Dnet: dracostrike *Signature created by DFB*
Zeta wrote:DRACO I FORGOT YOUR A PERSON! YO lol!

User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Duelist
Posts: 19621
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Re: Ebon Illusion Magician

Post by MysticJhn » Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:57 pm

I thought so; my opponent actually didn't take the replay thinking it didn't cause one.
I know technically you don't have to attack during a replay, but they were playing as if there was no replay.
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

Post Reply