What happened here?

Here's a place to ask about the rules of the game.
Post Reply
User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Duelist
Posts: 19537
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

What happened here?

Post by MysticJhn » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:26 pm

I was playing Duel Links against the computer.
I had an Absorbing Kid from the Sky equipped so it had 1800 ATK.
Opponent has a set Trap and a set monster.
I attack, the set monster is a Kuriboh.
Opponent activates Hallowed Life Barrier by discarding another Hallowed Life Barrier.
I attack, Kuriboh isn't destroyed.

What? Why?
Hallowed Life Barrier only saves them from damage, not from monster destruction.
What the heck happened?
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

User avatar
xion52998
Ultimate Rare Duelist
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: The point of no return.

Re: What happened here?

Post by xion52998 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 12:59 am

Hallowed Life Barrier is an ancient card, and has never been reprinted. As such, its wording is unclear - it reduces the damage of the enemy monster to zero, so it does not deal damage to the monster either. It's the same wording as the first print of Waboku, but that was updated to clarify that your monsters are not destroyed. Hallowed Life Barrier works exactly the same, but it's text was never updated.
Image
MysticJhn wrote:Pickles always like you, reguardless on how you feel about them.
If you have a ruling question, feel free to PM me.

User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Duelist
Posts: 19537
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Re: What happened here?

Post by MysticJhn » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:36 am

That's really bad and needs a fix, because damage and destroyed are very different things in this game.
Nobody on the Wikia even corrects this.

Although, reading the current Waboku, it says both no damage AND monsters are not destroyed.
Hallowed Life Barrier is very confusing to anyone new to the game or, like me, have never seen the card used before.
It says one thing and does another.
Right now I feel bad for judges in early Yu-Gi-Oh who had to clarify all the bad wording.

Just checked, and it did have an errata at one point, but didn't correct that.
It just changed "During this turn" to "This turn" and "from your opponent" to "from your opponent's cards and effects".
*sigh* Why was this game so poorly planned out?
I know it's based off an anime game that had no set rules, but c'mon Konami...
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

Post Reply