effects activated

Here's a place to ask about the rules of the game.
Post Reply
knyteii
Rare Duelist
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:13 pm

effects activated

Post by knyteii » Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:48 pm

Two situations. One question. My opponent comes up to me with D.D. Warrior Lady. He/she attacks my monster with it; when the monsters battle, its effect activates, thus sending both monsters out of play.
I attack my opponent. He/she has a face down monster that has an effect that goes off when it flips.
Do both of these accounts count as my opponent activating an effect?

User avatar
MysticJhn
Super Special Awesome Duelist
Posts: 19615
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Amity Park

Re: effects activated

Post by MysticJhn » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:09 pm

The short answer is yes.

Whether it's an optional effect, such as D.D. Warrior Lady, or a mandatory effect, such as a FLIP effect, as long as they
are monsters controlled by your opponent, they count as your opponent activating the effect.
Even thought the FLIP effect is triggered by your attack, it's still technically activated by your opponent.
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!

User avatar
xion52998
Ultimate Rare Duelist
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:58 pm
Location: The point of no return.

Re: effects activated

Post by xion52998 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:12 pm

If a card has a colon or a semicolon in the clause that explains the effect, that card activates. All flip effects activate as well. However, something like Giant Kozaky's effect to destroy himself after being attacked while facedown does not activate.
Image
MysticJhn wrote:Pickles always like you, reguardless on how you feel about them.
If you have a ruling question, feel free to PM me.

knyteii
Rare Duelist
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:13 pm

Re: effects activated

Post by knyteii » Mon Jul 10, 2017 2:56 pm

Thank you guys very much! I was hoping that was the case.

Post Reply