Google
  Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Guide   Web
  
 
  Yu-Gi-Oh! Store  
It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 2:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:23 pm 
Offline
Common Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 12
OK, I have a Gladiator Beast deck and I've never lost with it. I'm making sure I'm using it correctly.

For those of you who don't know what Gladiator Beasts do, here's what the effect of "Gladiator Beast Murmillo" reads(Note: not all Gladiator Beasts do the same thing when special summoned, I'll underline what most Gladiator Beasts have):

"When this card is Special Summoned by the effect of a "Gladiator Beast" monster, destroy 1 face-up monster. At the end of the Battle Phase, if this card attacked or was attacked, you can return it to the Deck to Special Summon 1 "Gladiator Beast" monster from your Deck, except "Gladiator Beast Murmillo"."


Here's a scenario:
I special summon "Gladiator Beast Murmillo" from my deck from the affect of another Gladiator Beast, then he gets attack and sent to the graveyard. Does he still go back to my deck and special summon another, because he was attacked, or does he stay in the graveyard for some reason I'm unaware of?

Another scenario:
I have out "Gladiator Beast Laquari" and he attacks and enemy monster. The opponent activates the trap "Magic Cylinder" and stops my attack from going through, can Laquari still go back to my deck to special summon another Gladiator Beast?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:29 am 
Offline
Super Special Awesome Rare
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 am
Posts: 17097
Location: Amity Park
I believe the answer to the second question is Yes, but I have so little experience even seeing Gladiator Beasts, I may be wrong.

I tihnk even though Magic Cylinder stopped him, he still technically attacked, so his effect still works.

I can't help you at all with the first question, as I was wondering that myself.

_________________
Image
To Discuss Moderatory Actions, Click Here!
If you need an avatar, check out the Avatar Encyclopedia!
Want a laugh? Try Yu-Gi-Oh! Domino Days!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:41 am 
Offline
Common Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 12
Well, it helps me a little, but the first question was what I wanted most


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:36 am 
Offline
Ultimate Rare Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 1015
Location: Mauritius
I'm sorry to say this but

WRONG!!!

1. The gladiator beast need to be on the field for its effect to work so if it's in the grave it doesn't work

2. Magic cylinder negates the attack so technically his attack was cancel, so it s effect doesn't work.

Here's some info you should know when using gladiator beast monsters:

The effect of the “Gladiator Beast” monsters that says, “At the end of the Battle Phase, if this card attacked or was attacked, you can return it to the Deck…”, returning the “Gladiator Beast” monster to the Deck is a cost to activate the effect.

If you do not have any “Gladiator Beast” monsters remaining in your Deck that you can Special Summon, you cannot activate the effect of the “Gladiator Beast” monster that attacked or was attacked. For example, if “Gladiator Beast Murmillo” attacks or is attacked and the only “Gladiator Beast” monster remaining in your Deck is another copy of “Gladiator Beast Murmillo”, you could not activate the effect of “Gladiator Beast Murmillo” at the end of the Battle Phase.

If a “Gladiator Beast” monster attacks or is attacked during the Battle Phase and the “Gladiator Beast” monster becomes flipped face-down by an effect during the Battle Phase, even if the “Gladiator Beast” monster is flipped face-up before the end of the Battle Phase its effect to Special Summon another “Gladiator Beast” monster cannot be activated.

“Divine Wrath” can be chained to the effect that returns the “Gladiator Beast” to the Deck. The effect will be negated, but the “Gladiator Beast” monster will not be destroyed because it is in the Deck.

If 2 or more “Gladiator Beast” monsters attack or are attacked during the Battle Phase, at the end of the Battle Phase the effect of each “Gladiator Beast” monster can be activated. The effects will activate and resolve separately. They are not combined onto the same Chain.

Hopes it helps

_________________
Image


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:54 am 
Offline
Parallel Rare Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 11:40 pm
Posts: 3365
No sky, i'm afraid your wrong, if it was "negated" there would be a replay and he would attack again, that's not how it goes, the attack is still valid, but it just doesn't go through to the opponent. I was running CO burn at a SJC once, I was facing beatdown. His goblin attack force attacked, I played magic cylinder, the judge said it still went through and goblin must be switched to defense mode, the same rule applies here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:12 am 
Offline
Ultimate Rare Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 1015
Location: Mauritius
No, there is a difference between gladiator beast and goblin attack force.

Goblin attack force says, if this card attacks, this means he initiates an attack, it it's not needed that the attack hits or not!

But for gladiator beast monsters, it says if this card attacked, this mean he initiates an attack and succeeded.

But i may be totally wrong too, after all humans make mistake!

i'm going to discuss that with some judges and confirm that.

_________________
Image


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:31 am 
Offline
Ultimate Rare Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 1015
Location: Mauritius
Ok i got my answer with a judge whose lv is like 9000 and others! They say goblin and gladiator beast doesn't have there effect activated!

Like i said error is humane! So your judge probably got it wrong! Didn't you read boman's post"s" againts judge?

_________________
Image


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:54 pm 
Offline
Common Duelist

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:49 pm
Posts: 1
Location: jacksonville, fl
theyve been enigmatic since the beginning, but i'd say the text is clear. "if it attacked or was attacked" it can returned. i dont see how it could me simpler. *shrugs* to each his own.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:10 am 
Offline
Ghost Rare Duelist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:08 am
Posts: 5277
Location: Walking in the truth of the LORD.
Scenario 1: Stays in GY

Scenario 2: According to this ruling: The effect of "Magic Cylinder" negates the attack of one attacking monster, but that monster is still considered to have attacked, and may not attack again, or have its Battle Position manually changed.

The glad can tag, but Goblin doesn't switch referring to earlier claim as no dmg calculation occured.

_________________
Fancy a duel? MSN or PM me, but I'm afraid I don't use YVD.

Want REAL deck advice? You know my PM address...

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
 
 
 

Visit my other sites:
Aunt Ruth's Kitchen | Drink Your Vitamins | Motives Style Blog | Scout Songs | Silly Mortal

This site is for entertainment purposes only. All information is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed.
Please send feedback or corrections here. See our Privacy Statement here.

Yu-Gi-Oh! is a trademark of Kazuki Takahashi, Shueisha, Konami Japan, etc. ©1996-2014. All rights reserved.
The scripts and card database used to create these pages are ©2003-2014 - Chakra Sites, Inc.